throwback thursday {house}

On Thursdays I throwback into my years of blogging archives and dig up some oldies but goodies (at least in my opinion). When I was going back through my last 7 years of Octobers, I about fell out of my chair looking at this post. While we are still deeply entrenched in the remodeling of our home, looking at this photos from 4 years ago when we first moved in are a good reminder of how far we have come. I’ll have to do an updated post with recent photos so you can see the difference. But for now…here’s a look back from 2010.

Front of our New House

So a couple of weeks ago we moved to a new town (kind of a suburb of the city we lived in) and into a 50+ year old house. It’s something my husband and I have been praying about and longing for for years. We live literally across the street from a park with a greenway that leads all the way to the next small town. If we decide to go public school again, we can walk to school. And we are in an old house with “character”.

Kitchen (plan is to at least redo the doors, if not all the cabinets)

The road to this house though was really, really tough. Our old house was not the best built house and we ended up having to pay to have a bunch of stuff fixed in order to even sell it. But we knew that we were on our way out. The house that had prompted this whole decision to move at first (a foreclosure) ended up selling before ours did (don’t they all!). And when we first attempted to buy the house we bought the first time, they promptly turned us down. We hemmed and hawed about money and budgets and making it all work and honestly in the end it all panned out. The move was slow, but good. We bunked at my parent’s house (sans the parents) for a week prior to moving in and they came home from their trip just in time for us to have a week to move in and get settled. Then things started falling apart again.

Dining Room (view from the kitchen…plan is to paint!)

Among other issues that have come up (such as 1/4 of the wood floor in our master is missing due to a room expansion that happened years ago!) we basically found out this week that our main sewer line was filled with tree roots and practically inoperable (this after our basement semi-flooded with sewage). Something that hadn’t been fully disclosed and led me on a path of anxiety attacks etc for the last few days and eventually (where I should have gone first) into the shelter of the Lord’s wings. It hit me this morning, the root of these anxiety attacks that I’m prone to have at times, is that I go into myself and into my ability to “fix” things instead of straight into the arms of the One who can fix things.

Front of Den (another of the large bay windows in the front…plan is to paint!!)

This morning the kids and I were reading about Moses crossing the Red Sea in this Bible (which rocks if you haven’t seen it). The Isrealites are up at the Red Sea, Pharoah is storming down on them and they are freaking out. But the whole time, Moses is standing there telling them “God will provide a way” and you know that he believed it (even though his knees were probably knocking too). God will provide a way and He is. The money for the repair is being provided and things are going to be ok. I just pray that the next time my knees start knocking and my heart starts freaking out that I’ll stand there and look fear in the face and just remind myself that “God will provide a way.”

The Basement

(this room has already undergone the first part of the transformation. We had to move all the furniture out last night and the hubs removed the nasty carpet. Obviously the plaid is going next, then some paint and tile and this will hopefully be our school/play/sewing studio…as soon as the sewer line is fixed!)

