throwback thursday: the watermelon girl

On instagram and facebook, Thursdays have become this kind of looking back at your life sort of thing. My feeds become flooded with old pictures of times past and while I haven’t gotten into that aspect of it myself, I figured I would start my own version of it on the blog.

I started this blog when my daughter was born as an out (she is now pushing way too close to 8 years old). It was a way to record my thoughts and struggles as I transitioned to a stay at home mom. Soon after I started it, I began to pick up sewing again and everything happening in the world of sewing in my life truly blossomed via this blog. It really is a record of how far I’ve come with my knowledge and skills…and yet how far I still have to go. To that end, I thought it would be fun to try and start a regular repost on Thursdays from the archives.

I’m sharing this watermelon girl because she holds a special place in my heart. She was the first thing I ever embroidered that I totally loved and didn’t want to let go. And she was the first thing I ever sold on etsy. So in tribute, this is from the archives – February 2008

melongirl

 

I am starting a stash of these with hopes of selling them, either by word of mouth or by opening an Etsy shop. I’m not sure yet.

 

melongirl1

 

 

melongirl2

Here is the latest; I call her Melon Girl. She turned out really great and I had a lot of fun sewing her.

