an ice cream shirt

One of my favorite patterns to sew is the Ice Cream Dress by Oliver + S. Primarily because it is such an easy pattern to put together. I recently got my hands on a yard of Sarah Jane’s Wee Wander fabric and the chick and I decided a shirt was in order. I searched for a few patterns to purchase and then remembered that I could do a shirt out of the Ice Cream dress pattern. Win-win for me. Super easy to put together and I already had the pattern!

Oliver + S ice cream top Sarah Jane wee wander fabric

I ended up not having enough of my Sarah Jane to do the yoke for the top so I grabbed some fabric on a Hobby Lobby run and hoped it would work. It’s not a perfect color match, but I think it works just fine.

Oliver + S ice cream top Sarah Jane wee wander fabric

I decided to try this shirt without the little “V” in the front and I left off the fabric button loop mainly because I couldn’t find that piece of my pattern and didn’t want to mess with how long to cut it etc. I opted for a thin piece of elastic. I added some piping I had in the stash and I really LOVE how that turned out!

Oliver + S ice cream top Sarah Jane wee wander fabric

The only hiccup I continue to have with this pattern is how to do the seam on the back with the button part of the yoke. I always end up having to cut the fabric and I know I’m doing something wrong and I’m sure it’s an obvious mistake but I can’t seem to figure it out.

Oliver + S ice cream top Sarah Jane wee wander fabric

I let my chickadee search through the vintage button stash to find just the right button for the back… and she even sewed it on herself!

Oliver + S ice cream top Sarah Jane wee wander fabric

Here’s hoping a little ownership will encourage her to actual wear the shirt!

