spring top sewalong

Spring-Top-Button-2014-300

Nothing like the last minute! I’ve been slowly trying to join in on the Spring Top Sewalong over at Made by Rae and was bound and determined to finish at least one project before the end.

I have had this stash of vintage fabric for almost 2 years now that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with. It came with a couple of quilt tops from my aunt. I’m guessing that she bought it to use for the back and/or the binding, but never got around to it. I knew I wasn’t going to back the quilt that I had (it ended up as our shower curtain) and I’ve been longing to make something with it.

Simplicity 1692: spring top sewalong

Simplicity 1692: spring top sewalong

I came across Simplicity 1692 on one of my Joann’s runs and grabbed it while it was on sale for $2. It’s a vintage reprint and I love it. I was worried about a few fitting issues since it was an older pattern and they all were valid concerns. While the shoulders fit perfectly, the waist is a little more snug than I prefer and I also would love it to be a little bit longer too.

Simplicity 1692: spring top sewalong

Simplicity 1692: spring top sewalong

It has an invisible zipper in the side and I’m so crazy rusty with putting in zippers. Overall it went in pretty well considering. I kind of wish that I hadn’t used interfacing on the facing pieces because this fabric is so thin that it really makes it too stiff. I also wish that I would have made either the lower neckline or the gathered one. I kind of feel a little “nursey” in it as it is. I guess that means I need to find a fancy, chunky necklace to wear!

It was a pretty good pattern to sew and not too complicated. I will definitely make more and would love to try some of the other views.

