pattern review {go to patterns – anywhere dress}

I recently traded my Viking serger for Juki one and knew that this dress was going to be my first test of it’s capabilities. It’s just their simplest serger, but oh.my.glory. it’s amazing compared to the one I had before.

Untitled

I pinned this little knit dress a while back and I’ve wanted to try something from Go To Patterns for a while too. I thought their Anywhere Dress would be the perfect pattern to try out first. The chick picked out some knit fabric online and I set to working on it…the night before Easter. Yep, that seems to be the way things roll around here lately. Nothing like last minute.

Untitled

This pattern is completely customizable from the type of sleeves, to the waist and of course the length. We opted for a long “maxi-style” length and I ended up doing the waist elastic just to give it some shape. I would have rather used the same fabric for the neckline and the sleeves, but I ended up not having enough so I had to find some coordinating knit via JoAnns in order to salvage the dress. I opted for little flare sleeves, which in the end probably weren’t the best choice.

Untitled

I will say this knit feels divine. We bought it via Fabric.com and I can’t remember who the maker is but it’s heavenly. The pattern as a whole is pretty simple and it has directions for sewing knits on a sewing machine if you don’t have a serger. It comes together simply, but I won’t give their pattern directions 5 stars at all for clarity. It’s another pattern I wouldn’t really recommend unless you’ve done some other garment sewing. Their sleeve instructions alone frustrated me a bit. It’s also one of the biggest printable patterns I’ve ever put together and it wasn’t for the faint of heart. They do provide a good template for you to use when taping all the sheets together, but still it’s a bit overwhelming….don’t attempt to put this pattern together AND sew it on the same day. Just trust me.

Untitled

I realized after the chick put it on that she is going to have the same narrow shoulders issue that I have. That’s what made me think that these flutter sleeves weren’t the best option for her petite little frame.

I will definitely make this again and hope to try a shorter version without the waist sometime soon to help grow the chick diminishing dress collection.

