gifting time

It’s about this time of year that my list making goes into hyperdrive. Between the holiday markets I am doing for daisyeyes handmade, there is Christmas and before that my daughter’s birthday. My one and only goal this year with all the gift giving is to be insanely intentional and simple.

That said, my first gift purchase was for my daughter’s birthday. She is a tough one to buy for because her attention span is like nil. But, she does love animals and knowing and pondering the toys that she always tends to gravitate to helped me solidify this years major birthday investment. We are doing a woodland themed party and in the spirit of that theme I found the most amazing seller on etsy so I just had to share!

My girl loves to play with little animals, especially those by schleich. We have a fair amount of them floating around our house, but she didn’t really have anything to play with them on. I started researching some play mats and came across the shop SooSun on etsy.  She created the most amazing play mat and felted animals that I’ve ever seen!

Here is the mat and set in it’s entirety. It measures about 16×23 and honestly is the perfect size.

icm_fullxfull.31640653_i2jsz03vmk0sok8w4g4w

We specifically asked for a family of badgers, some hedgehogs, a duo of foxes and owls for the tree. She gifted us with some little ducks for the pond. 🙂

icm_fullxfull.31635378_8hjpjbmjkhcs0k0k448s

Then came something even better! My daughter and I recently finished up reading The Wind in the Willows. I realized that it would be so fun to have Mr. Toad, River Rat and Mr. Mole to play with her set. I couldn’t find a set anywhere, so I decided to go back to this shop and ask if she could make up a set for us. And she did! Aren’t they the cutest!

icm_fullxfull.32339216_m48en26ckfks0cgk4ss0

Here’s hoping for many years of fun to come and an amazing gift to pass on from generation to the next. And check her out!

And as a teaser…check back in the weeks to come as I plan for this little woodland event!

