saving face…

In an effort to make sure that I’m always on the up and up, I share this little bit of background information in order to save face a little bit.

firstmoment2

Ages ago when I joined Pinterest I saw a really cute printable that had been pinned with this quote on it. At that point, I wasn’t in the habit of checking links or anything along those lines (which I do know almost religiously and encourage everyone to practice responsible pinning!) I had no intention of copying the design, I merely wanted to stitch a version of the quote.

firstmoment1

I usually do make a habit of researching a quote before I design something to make sure that I can give credit due to the speaker. This time around, I didn’t do that. I guess in the back of my mind I was thinking that if it was a specific quote from someone, the printable would have had the speaker’s name on it.

firstmoment3

I came to find out later that this quote was indeed spoken by a person who was seeking her name attributed to her words. No issue from me at all. Per her request, I pulled my listing down and recently the pin was pulled off Pinterest too.

I share all this just to make known that I had no intention of “stealing” someone’s artwork or words. I think as artists we all take bits and pieces of what we see all around us and hodpodge it all together to make something new that is every bit our own. I do admit fully that there are people out there who are actively copying other people’s art, but I want no part of it.

