being courageous

One of my favorite Psalms is the 27th one.
I have sweet memories of setting the first few verses to song with one of my closest friends in high school and I still sing it in my head.

But lately, I cling to the promise in the closing verses:

13 I remain confident of this:
I will see the goodness of the Lord
in the land of the living.
14 Wait for the Lord;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the Lord.

These are the verses running through my head as I stepped out yesterday. These are the verses that I claim for almost every step I take right now. When I walk on a path that seems to be crazy or unknown, I cling to the promise that God is good and I will see His goodness.

But we have to know that His goodness isn’t worldly prosperity.
His goodness isn’t the amount of money we have in the bank.

His goodness is the courage to step out in faith.
His goodness is manna…all the grace we need right at that moment.
He gives me grace to mother my children when I’m all out.
He gives me grace to talk to a stranger.
He gives me grace to share my gifts and talents with others.
He gives me grace to be a wife full of respect for her husband.

All is grace.
And we will see His goodness.

