going green experiment {wool dryer balls}

So I have a few boards on Pinterest that I have decided that I am going to tackle this year. One of them is my “living green” board. While there were a few standard things I adapted to in 2012 (making my own handsoap for example) there are many other things I’ve wanted to tackle. My goal is to take at least one pin from my board (or any other place that I end up seeing something) and try that out once a month.

This month was easy. A while back I pinned this idea for making dryer balls from Jillee (who is hands down the queen of DIY stuff) and while I was making a run to JoAnns one day I grabbed a skein of 100 percent wool yarn. And then it sat in various places in my house staring at me until finally I decided to sit down and do it (back to back episodes of Parenthood on the iPad helped; I must admit).

Untitled

So, I started winding and I only came up with 3 balls (she got 4). It was hard to tell from her picture how big hers were. (This whole conversation is making me giggle to be honest…I have a 9 year old boy in my house so any conversation with the word “balls” in it makes him erupt. I digress).

I threw my into a pantyhose (finally a use for those things laying in my drawer) and washed them and dried them. And so far, the jury is out.

My clothes still came out with gobs of static. So I am really just not sure. Maybe I need more than 3?

Has anyone else out there tried these with success?

