before & after {front door holiday style}

Our old house didn’t really have much in the way of decorating curb appeal. This house, with it’s front porch stoop and columns leaves much for me to ponder in decorating (which is truly not my gift). But this year….aw man. I was totally excited to dress up the front.

If you’ve followed this blog at all you know that my husband is deep in the midst of restoring the original wood siding on our 1950’s house. He stripped off all the aluminum last year and this past summer he got almost all the way around with one coat of paint. The cold has set in (well not really…it was 70 degrees today) and he has moved to inside projects. But he was able to get the front done and we.love.it!

Here is a glimpse at my front decorations from the last couple of years:

2010 front door

How about this crazy red door?

Ornament Wreath (pottery barn copy)

A photo from Pottery Barn was my inspiration for all the garland and hanging ornaments and while I liked it I wasn’t too gung ho about repeating it again this year. If you remember, I’m trying to move away from the fake garland and while I did use it around my front door, it seemed less obtrusive than wrapping the front columns with it.

 

Here is the current “after” shot:

Untitled

I decided to take garland around our door and wrapped it in ribbon, along with wrapping the little trees in the same ribbon. Everything lights up at night and it looks really cool.

Untitled

I saw the idea of hanging the ornaments across the top on Pinterest and thought I would try it for something different.
All I need now is a new front door rug.

Untitled

I really wanted to get something to put on the steps but the budget really didn’t allow for that this year and I never could hammer down exactly what I wanted to do so I just gave up! Any thoughts?

Overall, I am crazy pleased and know that next year it will look even better!

One thought on “before & after {front door holiday style}

Comments are closed.