baked pumpkin oatmeal

I will spare you a photo (I’m totally at a loss to make oatmeal look appealing) but this is the best baked oatmeal I’ve made…ever. Even my oatmeal hating daughter ate 2 servings of it!

I combined two recipes that I have in my collection. One from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures and another one that I didn’t save the author (sorry). So if you are hankering for a good, warm breakfast with some yummy pumpkin flavor look no further!

Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

3 cups old fashioned oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tbs ground flax meal
1 cup buttermilk
2 Tbs canola oil (or you could use butter)
2 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon (I make this heaping)
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3/4 cup pumpkin puree

Topping
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts (or pecans)

In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except for the topping.
Spread into a greased 9×13 pan.
Sprinkle topping on top.
Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (or until set)
Enjoy!

