31 days of embroidery {bullion knot}

Honestly, this stitch just frustrated me. I’ve long wanted to try a bullion knot and so I left it as the last stitch because it was one of the ones I was most looking forward to learning. Ugg…I tried a couple of times and just kept getting stuck in knots (hardy har har!)

This is an awesome stitch that makes the coolest flowers like these:
bullion  knot roses

And alas, I just couldn’t figure it out. I’ll just have to keep trying.

 

Here is the general gist of how it goes.

Untitled
First you make a stitch coming up and then bring your needle back down a little off to the side. Don’t pull your thread all the way through; you want to leave a bit of a loop on the top.

Untitled
Then you are going to bring your needle back up through where you made your first stitch and

Untitled
then wind that loop of thread about 5 times around your needle.

Here’s where I lost it. Somehow you are supposed to pull the needle on up and through without making a mess of things. Then once your needle is through you use your needle to push those loops down the thread making a little knot line.

Untitled
Working from left to right, the first time I did ok. The second time I made my stitches closer together and did a little better. The third time…well let’s just say I gave up.

I searched a little and found this video and maybe there is a little hope I might get the hang of these one day!

