31 days of embroidery {rope stitch}

Last year I participated in the Covered in Stitches contest over at Feeling Stitchy. I hemmed and hawed for days on what book cover to do and finally settled on a trio of embroideries based on Where the Wild Things Are. Alas I didn’t come close to winning, but it was a great way to stretch my stitching skills.

One of the stitches I learned during that process was the rope stitch. I used it to stitch one of the wild things hair and I love how it turned out.

max and wild thing close up

The key thing to remember with this stitch is that it is a tiny one. The closer your stitches are together, the more of that “rope” effect you will get. When I started out practicing this stitch, my first attempt looked horrible because I was making too large of stitches.

Covered in Stitches Entry: SNEAK PEEK

Here’s another great example of what you can do with the rope stitch by AnneliesePe

So here goes! This is really a pretty easy stitch that just looks difficult. It’s basically a chain stitch, you just aren’t linking it from the inside. You are stitching on the outside “waist” of the stitch before.

Here’s a link to photo directions

and here is my video!

