finding a direction

One of the hardest things for me since I started blogging has been figuring out what to do with a blog. Why do I write it, do I have an audience at all…does that even matter?
Obviously as my etsy business has grown, this blog has morphed into showcasing some of the things I’ve been working on and honestly into cheap advertising.
Long ago I did split this blog and moved all my journalish, random writings off of this space and that seemed to help me find a little more focus. Now, I’m just wondering what to do with this space now and with my voice here and honestly the direction I need my etsy shop to go. I’m sitting at somewhat of a crossroads. As I seek to keep my business thriving and growing, while also trying to do all the legwork to start a new business that is really becoming more of a passion than etsy will ever be (more on that later).

I don’t want this space to primarily be a place showcasing etsy stuff. I do want to hold myself to continuing to sew for learning and for fun, not just for profit.
But I’m feeling a disconnect and in some ways I’m in a blogging funk. I feel like I’ve got five thousand projects to do and there are times when the pressure to complete a project so that it can be a great post becomes to great. Those are the times that I here a voice in my head saying: “step away from the blog or you will self-destruct.” 🙂
But that said, I do want some consistency here.
I love having a day to share stitching (thursday threads) and do want to continue to develop that into something.
I love having a day to combine a bunch of great ideas (fantastic fridays), but I’m at a loss for the rest of the week.

So here I am just rambling on and on and trying to figure out the whole blog world. And that said it will probably pretty much stay the way it is and the reality that I’m never going to be a “professional” blogger or find my blog pinned all over Pinterest remains.

And that’s a good thing.

Happy Monday!!

4 thoughts on “finding a direction

  1. I hear your sentiments exactly and feel the same. I do wonder what trick I’m missing, and have lost interest looking at stats. But aside from that, perhaps this blogging malarkey is about recording our own creative tapestries, just another creative outlet. I really enjoy your posts, I think you’re incredibly talented and your work is inspiring. Keep going forward… Onwards and upwards 🙂

  2. Ps: looking forward to hearing more about your new business venture. I’m starting a little business too, all in the very early stages. Scary but exciting!! Good luck.

  3. love the word “malarkey” 🙂
    I do miss the days of just recording what I’ve been working on here in this space instead of trying to frame everything I do as a post.
    Thanks so much for the sweet compliments! Very encouraging!!!
    And yes, the business venture…totally exciting but totally scary!!!

  4. Blog what you love. Blog your dreams and heart. If that works on a public blog, do it. If not, find your spaced filled in a quiet private corner. I don’t look at stats. I also try to steer clear of Pinterest. That place is a competitive/self confidence shaking zone if you aren’t balanced and rock solid on who you are and what you love. I like your space, Daisy. I’ll keep reading!

    .mac 🙂

Comments are closed.