before & after {girl’s closet redo}

I shared a few weeks ago the before & after of the boy’s closet and today I finally put the finishing touches on the girl’s closet. As I mentioned in that first post, we live in a house built in the 50’s and the closets and bedrooms that our kiddos reside in are pretty darn small. When I saw this original idea from i heart organizing on Pinterest months ago I knew this would relieve us of the need for dressers and free up more floor/wall space in their rooms. Now that the closets are done and the dressers are gone I am even more pleased with the results!

Here is the before of the chick’s closet:

Untitled

And here is the after:

girl closet after

The kids were in charge of picking out the paint color and this chick picked out this lovely icy blue and it looks awesome.

girl closet after

We only put 3 rods up in her closet, leaving the right side open for her as she grows and needs the space for longer dresses and skirts.

This chick is not the best at putting her things away so I opted to add some little labels for the boxes in her room. I don’t have one of those fancy cutting machines so it was just a little iron on fusible webbing, a pencil and some creativity and voila…

girl closet box labels

Overall, I am ecstatic we did this (and thankful for friends who brought these back from Ikea for us!). Yeah for organizing!

Here is one last look at the before and afters…

