windows after shot

the before:

From Christmas 2011

So the only before picture I could find was from Christmas. I could have sworn I took some pictures of these windows, but alas I can’t find them. This gives you an idea of how horrible the paint was before too!

the inspiration:

 

 

the after: (well the almost after)

window's after

windows after

We still have to put a coat of white paint onto the dowel, shelf and bracket but I was too excited not to share. I’m beyond happy with how it turned out. It makes me happy every time I walk in the room and don’t have to look through those venetian blinds!

window close up

The curtains are from Ikea and the plan is to probably add a strip of fabric along the bottom or side that will go with the still uncovered ottomans and still uncovered new to us chairs. We got the brackets and dowel from Home Depot. The shelf is actually a stair tread that my husband purchased and then ripped off the curve at the front to make it a straight shelf. Our windows are 80-90 inches in length, so the stair treads ended up giving us the length and depth that we wanted.

Now I need to figure out what to put on the shelf!

 

