fantastic friday {04.13.2012}

fantasticfriday button

It’s Friday the 13th!!! AHHH! Hopefully Jason won’t make an appearance in my bushes today. ๐Ÿ˜‰

On Fridays I recap some fantastic finds from around the world wide web.

Happy Weekend!

great FABRIC: I have quite a fascination with Japanese fabric and all sorts of zakka ๐Ÿ™‚ There are a couple awesome shops I’ve found and love that specialize in Japanese fun. One is an old standbye, Superbuzzy. They’ve been around for a while and time has brought more and more fun things into their little spot. Another one I’ve recently found on etsy called Japan Lovely Crafts. They also have a great variety of fabric, books and gobs of other things.

to whet your APPETITE: My last hold out on processed food items with msg (gasp!) is yellow rice. My kids love it and we love it on our quesidillas etc. I’ve tried to make some from scratch in the past only to be super disappointed. I stumbled upon this recipe last night and the reviews are all super. We’ll see if this one is the winner.

be NATURAL and NEAT (as in organized): Bringing the natural indoors…I love this little succulent garden. I’ve got a couple of spots in my dining room where it would fit perfectly. I just have to figure out where to get a dish like that!

a TUTORIAL to do: I’ve been needing to finally make some bags for my kiddos, one for wrestling practice and the other for ballet (I’ll let you figure out who is who!) and while I’ve long thought I would just do a simple drawstring bag, I came across this tutorial from sew mama sew. It’s a one strap bag using basically fat quarters. I love it.

on AIMEEโ€™s to do list (thatโ€™s me by the way): New marketing and designs! I’m so excited I came across this new shop called charmmay on etsy and I’m giving them a try. They are using the flower/daisy that I’ve been using, but spicing it up and designing a whole suite of items for me (new blog banner, new blog buttons, new etsy banner, business cards…the whole she-bang). Keep and eye out in the next few weeks for the new design to show up!

something to SEW: Keeping with the Japanese theme this week…here is a post that links to a handful of free Japanese sewing patterns.

to TRIM my house with: I love this little gnome house and I know my kids would love to make some to hide around our front and side yard beds.

INSPIRATIONAL: I was sitting across from my son at lunch yesterday (and a handful of crazy, out of control, wild and silly boys) wondering what to talk about. I wish I would have had this list of conversation starters with me. It might have helped cut down on all the nutty “boy” talk.

CUTE: I found these books at the library a few months ago by Elsa Beskow and we fell in love with them (well I fell in love with them, the kids liked them). I saw this on Pinterest last night and was so excited. It is a whole post full of ideas to use with these books. I tell you, it’s things like this that make me sort of wish (mind you I said sort of) we were homeschooling again and we had time to just do fun things like this. Alas, I’ll file it away for our school breaks or long weekends.

