walnut molasses granola

On Monday I shared that I had hoped to try out a new granola recipe this week and yeah! I did it!

The recipe is originally from Everyday Food. I tweaked it a little bit and here is my version:

walnut molasses granola

Walnut Molasses Granola (modified from Everyday Food magazine)

1/3 cup unsulphured molasses (not blackstrap)
*always spray your measuring cup first before you measure honey, syrup and especially molasses. You will thank me later!*
2 T canola oil (or vegetable oil) and I wonder how this would be with coconut oil instead?
1/2 t ground cinnamon (we love cinnamon in our house, so mine was a heaping 1/2 teaspoon)
1/2 t salt (I think I would drop this down to 1/4 t next time)
3 cups rolled oats (not quick)
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut
3/4-1 cup chopped walnuts (or other nuts I think would work)
1/2 cup soaked raisins (measure out raisins, boil some water and then cover the raisins with boiling water and let them soak while the granola is cooking)

Preheat oven to 325. In a large bowl whisk together molasses, oil, cinnamon and salt. Add oats, coconut and walnuts. Stir gently until completed coated. Spread onto a rimmed baking sheet and spread in an even layer. Bake for 20 minutes, stirring about every 5 minutes. After 20 minutes, add the drained raisins and stir. Bake for another 5 minutes. Let cool for no longer than 10 minutes or you will have a brick.

Enjoy!

walnut molasses granola

 

Now here’s the deal, if you don’t like molasses, you won’t like this. It also doesn’t have any sugar, so it’s not a real sweet granola. But I tend to eat vanilla yogurt, so that gives me enough sugar. It tastes to me on the edge of a gingersnap cookie…oh maybe that’s the spice to add next time! Overall, a quick and easy granola!

