fantastic fridays {2-24-12}

fantasticfriday button

On Fridays around here I share some fantastic finds from around the web and from my “pins”!

Happy Weekend!

great Fabric: I’ve never been a huge fan of Amy Butler (dare I write that?) mostly because I feel like her stuff is everywhere and if I’m going to sew something handmade I want to use some fabric that isn’t quite so main stream. That said, her husband has started a new line of fabric and honestly I love it. Maybe it’s because the pictures remind me of something my brother would do, but that said? I don’t know, but it’s pretty cool stuff.

to whet your Appetite: Tuesday this past week was Fat Tuesday, but also known as Pancake Day. I will use any excuse not to make a big dinner and pancakes were it! We celebrated Fat Tuesday and Pancake Day with these delicious Thick and Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes. Even my non-pancake eating daughter (gasp!) gobbled up two of them.

be Natural and Neat (as in organized): At some point in the hopefully near future I am finally going to tackle the stupid basement closet. I have great dreams of creating some sort of craft spot for my children (basically to steer them away from my craft stuff). This craft supply bookshelf is so inspiring, now I just need to actually do it!

a Tutorial to do: Chevron stripes seem to be everywhere and this seems like a fun tutorial to do to make your own chevron stripe rug.

on Aimee’s to do list (that’s me by the way): um…too much

something to Sew: I have this dress pattern from Oliver + S and have made a few of them. The thing that I’m loving about this pattern is that you can make this dress so many ways and it looks so different. So far, this is my favorite version.

oh, to Travel: We are dreaming of traveling to California this summer to help celebrate my Aunt’s 80th birthday…if only we could just be transported there without the use or cost of an airplane. This is a super fun print celebrating San Fransisco.

Inspirational: This is a shameless plug for my journal blog. I used to keep my journal and random thoughts on daisyeyes, but last year decided to separate the two. I don’t write as consistently as I did last year, but hopefully what I do write is grace-filled and encouraging.

Cute: Spring is almost here and we told the kids we would consider a dog after the winter had passed. The husband is on the hunt and came across this cutie last night…too cute not to share!

