pinterest inspired pj’s

I pinned this dress a while back knowing that it would be superb for the chick’s traditional Christmas PJ’s.

Source: etsy.com via aimee on Pinterest

 

 

After buying the softest flannel you could dream of (I think it’s Michael Miller), doing a little type design and machine applique…here we are.

2011 christmas jammies

The pattern is Butterick 6659 and it’s pretty simple to sew. It does use a TON of fabric and honestly had me a little freaked out that I was making a nightgown for myself and not my five year old daughter (ack!!! hate typing “five year old”…how can my baby be five???) but in the end it turned out ok. I did have to cut off about 5 inches of excess hem and still hemmed it up and least 1.5 inches. Needless to say, measure your child with the pattern before you cut it out, you might save yourself a bunch of yardage in the end! I do wish this would have been long sleeve. The pattern is short sleeve, would have been easy to lengthen it, but I was short enough fabric to do that. Oh well. My only complaint was how the back facings were put together with the gathered waist. Maybe it’s just something I’ve not figure out how to do yet, but it didn’t really come together well there.

My favorite part are the mis-matched buttons on the back. Wanting to use what I had on hand, this is what I dug from the button jar. Pretty fun in my book!

happy mismatched buttons (christmas 2011 jammies)

 

This was the last of the Christmas sewing. I can’t say I’m not ready for a little break. I’ve got one more embroidery project/gift I need to finish (please don’t remind me that I’ve only got like 4 days!) and then it’s time for some family fun and then some planning for the blog, the shop and just everything else for 2012.

Merry Christmas to all my readers, followers and friends. You’ve made 2011 a great year for daisyeyes handmade and I’m beyond blessed with how the Lord has encouraged me to keep creating and sewing. That has been the best gift I could have gotten for Christmas.

