31 days: our favorite bread recipe

Day 9: our favorite bread recipe

our favorite bread recipe

I have to be honest, today is a freebie day for me. I haven’t shared this recipe yet on the blog and knew that I would probably need a couple of easy creating sort of day and I chose today to be a freebie day!

I’ve been making bread for us for at least 3 months…long enough that when I brought a store-bought loaf home last week my son asked me why I bought bread ๐Ÿ™‚ I got this recipe from a good friend of mine and it rocks. Super easy and I can get 3 small loaves out of. I kind of prefer the smaller loaves because they don’t really get too dry before we have to crack into another one. We can get by with 3 loaves a week, usually.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 cups hot water
1/3 cup oil (I use organic canola oil)
1/3 cup honey
1 egg
2 tsp salt
1 T lecithin (make sure it’s non-gmo. This week I didn’t have any and the loaves came out fine. They just dry out a bit quicker)
1 t gluten
4 – 4 1/2 cups flour (I do 1 cup unbleached all-purpose and 3 – 3 1/2 cups white whole wheat)
1 T yeast
1/2 cup ground flax seeds

Combine ingredients as listed into a breadmaker and run through the dough cycle.
After the dough cycle is complete, remove and knead gently and then split into 2-3 loaves.
Let rise again until at least doubled in bulk. I usually put mine in the oven with the light on until I remember that they are there ๐Ÿ™‚
Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Missed a day in my 31 days of creating series? Click here for the complete list.

31daysbutton

2 thoughts on “31 days: our favorite bread recipe

  1. so, does this pass the pb/j test? can only try it if it doesn’t get too crumbly for pb/j which all micah eats these days. still on the look out for that perfect bread…

  2. I think it does. That is really why I do the three smaller loaves. It tends to make a “tighter” bread. I can spread almond butter on it and that’s a pain in the behind to spread!

Comments are closed.