everything i need to know i learned…

on pinterest.

be still my heart. I am loving pinterest!

We made sunflower cupcakes today in honor of some (that were probably way cuter than mine) that I saw on there. A little candy corn and chocolate chips make the petals and seeds and one family of 4 very happy!

I will say, this is the yummiest cake batter I’ve made in a long time. The icing is so-so. But in a house where cakes only seem to happen on birthdays, cupcakes out of nowhere are awesome irregardless of the icing!

Classic Butter Cake from King Arthur Whole Grain Baking

2 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 1/2 c sugar
1 t salt
4 large eggs
2 t vanilla
1 c plain yogurt (we only had vanilla yogurt…so sad for us.)

Preheat oven to 350. Line 2 muffin tins with papers.

Whisk together flours, baking powder and baking soda.

Cream butter, sugar and salt in large mixing bowl till light and fluffy. Add eggs, individually, beating well after each addition. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture, mixing until incorporated.

Whisk vanilla and yogurt and add 1/2 to large bowl. Beat until fluffy. Add 1/3 more of the flour and then the rest of the yogurt, finishing with the last of the flour.

Pour batter into prepared muffin tins and bake 15-20 minutes.

Ice with your favorite icing. I won’t share mine because it wasn’t great enough to type 🙂

On another note, my son says to me after taking a picture…”are you gonna put this on your blog?” ha ha.

One thought on “everything i need to know i learned…

  1. dang it, I am trying to avoid this as it seems to be the latest addiction so I might as well give in. can you send me an invitation?

Comments are closed.