easter bunny baskets

Easter Bunny Baskets 2011

I’ve been a mother for going on 8 years now and I’ve never invested in a good Easter Basket. I’ve done all sorts of different containers, but I’ve refused to buy the baskets from the store. I saw this idea a few weeks ago and knew this was what I needed to do. I found a tutorial for these fabric boxes and last night sat down to watch The Amazing Race and got stitching!

Easter Bunny Basket for Her

The bunny ears and embroidery pattern are easy-peasy. She used buttons for the eyes, while I decided to try my hand at improving my filling in stitch (I’m sure this has an official name, but I don’t know what it is). She also stitched right onto the side of the box, while I decided to make a specific face. And yes, my ears are on backwards. I think the fold was supposed to go the opposite way. Oh well.

Easter Basket for Him

The fabric box tutorial is very well explained. I thought it was super easy to put together and I love that she explained how she developed the pattern. Her pattern is for a rectangular box, but it was really easy to change that to these square boxes. My two negatives would be the size of the handles. When I do these again, I will increase the size of the handles, making them a little longer and thicker. The other issue was the amount of fabric inside the boxes. I wasn’t able to get it super tight inside. I think part of the issue was the batting I picked. I got a sturdy batting, but I think it was way to thick for this kind of project.

All in all, I love them and hope they will be treasured for many years to come.

