a little preschool bookmaking

Seven Blind Mice Book

I found this book at the library last week and remembered I had a great little activity to go along with it in the old teacher files.

Seven Blind Mice Book

The girl and I set to work this morning, cutting out little mice, words and pictures to make our little re-creation of this great book by Ed Young. It’s the old folk tale of the blind mice who try to figure out what this big thing is down by the pond. Individually they each think it’s a different sort of object as they only feel one part of the big thing. The final mouse has the idea to feel the whole thing and discovers that it is an elephant. Working together and looking at the sum of the parts is more effective than just one part of the whole.

Seven Blind Mice Inside

This book is a great way to work on colors, ordinal numbers (which for us was just counting numbers) and days of the week. If you are interested in the stuff to make your own, let me know and I’ll try to scan some stuff in.

One thought on “a little preschool bookmaking

  1. I love this kind of stuff, especially because I don’t have the wits to come up with it on my own. It’s the equivalent of rocket science to my brain.

Comments are closed.