KAF: Harvest Apple Pound Cake

Next up from the Whole Grain Baking Book was this Harvest Apple Pound Cake. I picked it because I had apples I needed to do something with lest they ended up in the compost. I probably read the recipe 3 times to make sure I had what I needed, but it wasn’t until I was actually in the middle of making it that I realized that there are no apples in it…just apple butter. boo! I had about a tablespoon of apple butter, so I improvised and added applesauce and then screwed the directions and added some diced up apples. Here is my version of the recipe:

cake:

1 1/4 cup whole yellow cornmeal
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup bread flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 package cream cheese (8oz)
1 1/2 cups sugar (I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup sucanat)
2 large eggs
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp rum flavoring
2-3 small apples, diced

glaze
1 cup confectioners sugar
1-2 Tbsp cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk together dry ingredients (cornmeal etc) and then beat together the butter and cream cheese. Add sugar and beat until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time. Add dry ingredients, alternating with the applesauce and ending with the flour mixture. Stir in the rum flavoring and pour batter into greased bundt pan.
Bake until tester comes out clean, about one hour. Cool for 10 minutes in pan, then invert the cake onto a rack and let cool. Combine the glaze ingredients and pour the glaze over the cake. Keep all little people’s fingers out of the glaze before you serve it to your guests; if you can.

(And don’t forget to turn on your oven when you are baking your cake! Mine was in the oven for about 30 minutes before I noticed that I had set the timer, but never turned on the oven. It was just one of those kind of days.)

