Oatmeal Bread

Oatmeal Bread

I’ve long been on the hunt for a successful sandwich bread recipe. I’ve had horrible luck and pretty much decided that we would do homemade buns and such, but the bread thing just wasn’t going to work out; until I tried this recipe. I’ve made it twice now and we LOVE it. It’s the perfect consistency for sandwich bread…not too dry, crumby, heavy etc. I’m beyond excited and think we’ve found our answer to having homemade bread weekly.

The recipe is from Posie Get’s Cozy and she calls it Alicia’s Oatmeal Bread. I’ve copied her recipe, but added my changes in red. (now looking back over the recipe I have copied and the one here, it’s virtually the same, but I must have copied it from somewhere else…alas I’ll still give Posie credit because she has a super cool blog!)

Alicia’s Version of Oatmeal Bread

1 1/4 c. warm water (110 degrees F)
1 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1 packet  or 2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 c. all-purpose or bread flour
1 c. whole-wheat  pastry flour
1/2 c. rolled oats
1 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons soft butter

I did my dough in the bread machine: I added all the liquid (water, honey. butter + brown sugar) and then put all the dry on top (flours, oats + salt) and then the yeast goes on the very top. I also added 1/4 cup potato flour (to keep it moist longer) and 2 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten (to help it rise higher).
After it rose in the bread machine, I picked up with the second rising in the pan.
*The first time I didn’t add the potato flour or the gluten and it was just fine. I was experimenting today

In a large (2 cup) measuring cup, add brown sugar to warm water. Stir to dissolve. Add yeast and stir, then set the timer for 5 minutes so the yeast can proof. While that’s happening, stir the all-purpose flour, wheat flour, oats, salt, and butter or oil together in a large bowl (or the bowl of a KitchenAid mixer with the bread hook attached). When the yeast has proofed, add the yeasty-sugary water to the flour mixture a bit at a time and work it all together until you have a shaggy lump of dough. Knead, either by hand on a floured board or by KitchenAid, for 10 minutes.

Shape the dough into a ball, put it back in the bowl, cover it with a damp dishtowel, and leave it to rise in a warm place for 1 1/2 hours. It should double in size. Punch it down, then knead it a few times on a floured board, then shape it into a long sausage shape and stick it in a 9″ x 5″ well-oiled loaf pan. Cover it with the dishtowel again and let it rise for 1/2 hour. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Place the pan in the oven and set the timer for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, turn the oven down to 400 degrees F. Set the timer for another 15 minutes (if it’s getting too dark put a piece of tinfoil loosely over it). Take the bread out and turn it out of its pan and tap it on its bottom. If it sounds hollow, it’s done! Let it cool on a wire rack and then make a turkey sandwich.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Bread

Comments are closed.