For 2010

What I want to remember as I walk into 2010:

Imagine yourself living as a house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on; you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised.

But presently he starts knocking the house about in a way that hurst abominably and does not seem to make sense. What on earth is He up to?

The explanation is that He is building a quite different house from the one you thought of – throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards.

You thought you were going to be made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.

~ C.S. Lewis

Lord Jesus, may I long daily to not be content with being a decent little cottage, but rather help me to long greatly and trust greatly for the beauty that you are making me into.

One thought on “For 2010

  1. Love this.

    I have this twist in my mind as of late that what I am longing for is completion: “A finished product”. When in reality, God’s work is never completed, but always growing and changing for His will. So contentment really should lie in what new things He has growing in your heart and making with your hands and mouth.

    Big one to swallow and digest, but I am working on it.

    Hope your Christmas was great.

    .mac 🙂

Comments are closed.