The Grocery Game Week One

Tonight I skipped yoga (gasp!) and went shopping instead. Is it sad that I find it amazing to be able to walk around the grocery store at my own pace, linger over items, try to figure out if it’s the best deal etc without 2 little people around me? Well that is what I did. (I did hit the fabric store first, but that’s another story.)

This was week one of my try with the Grocery Game. I will tell you that when I started looking at the list this week for Kroger, I was a little bummed. It just seemed like a bunch of stuff we don’t use or don’t need right now. But her philosophy is stocking up. I went through the list and picked out about 20-30 things I thought we might use. Then I went through my coupon stash and  matched them up. I found out that I am going to have to change how I cut out coupons. I tend to be really picking, not cutting out ones that I think we would never use but with this you really need to be a bit broader than that.

All that said, I probably bought about 1/4 my groceries based on the list, about 1/2 on what was on sale at Kroger and what I had coupons for and the rest stuff that we needed irregardless.

I saved nearly $67 total with Kroger rewards and coupons!!! I was so excited. I got at least 4 boxes of cereal for $0.88 each and some toiletry items for super cheap too. I was pretty pumped. I don’t feel like I bought anything that we won’t use in the near future.

So there is week one. And the trip to the cloth store was for batting. I stitched the top of the quilt together today, so hopefully tomorrow I can figure out the back and start quilting!

5 thoughts on “The Grocery Game Week One

  1. Awww, man. I just remembered you were doing it too.

    I know this is supposed to be like the best thing “eva”.

    I need a small pep rally to “get with” her philosophy.

    You don’t happen to wear bloomers and a pleated skirt do you?

    .mac 🙂

  2. I have one friend who always does the grocery game – she saves crazy amout of money. One day she saved nearly $100 at Harris Teeter! Have fun and keep up the good work.

  3. I was so excited to see your post about the Grocery Game! I started couponing last fall when I signed up for the GG and I have learned sooo much since then. I am kind of sad that I am all stockpiled up and am not actually buying anything except perishables each week. (veggies/fruit/milk/eggs.) I think my weekly grocery and toiletry budget for 2 adults and 2 kids is $40/wk. It was so fun to walk out of the grocery having got $100 of groceries for $25. I know that sounds so fake but anyone can do it!
    Honestly, I found that the drugstore lists were pretty accurate but the grocery lists weren’t in my region. So I found some other on-line blogs that helped me save, gave me scenarios, like what products to get, what Qs to use, and when to buy. And remember that even if you don’t need the products all that are the best deals, you are still getting better deals on the discounted products you do buy.
    I wish you all the luck making this work for you!
    Abbie

Comments are closed.