The Wall

My son has this little wall in his room that I’ve been dying to do something with since we bought this house. It leads into this dead space in his closet, so my first thought was to cut a hole in the wall to create this little opening into a cool space in his closet. That didn’t fly with hubby so I’ve been pondering other options for years. Finally, I decided to do a magnet/chalkboard wall. It was my hope that he would be able to use the surface to draw, write and hang up artwork or photos etc.

Here is the before:
The Wall Before

It truly was a work in progress. I didn’t want to be even, so it isn’t. I wanted to do the black with a border around it. The first try was with this red semi-gloss paint that we had left from an old project and I thought I was going to cry when I started to frame it out. Horrible!

Here is the after:
The Wall After

So, thought number two was the buy some cheap yard sticks and decoupage them with cool paper. Well, yard sticks are not cheap, so I found this project board for cheap, cut it up and then used some scrapbook paper to frame it.

All said, I think it looks pretty ok. Not exactly what I had in mind (I’ve been watching too much HGTV lately!) but I think he likes it.

The biggest bummer is the magnetic paint. Magnets do stick to it, but they won’t hold anything up. It crushed any ideas of doing this same sort of project in my kitchen 😦

3 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. I think it turned out better than you’re giving yourself credit for. A little time away from thinking about will help you see it for the awesome spot it is!

  2. Dang-it! I was so hoping the magnetic paint would be strong enough. Love the idea. You and I are on the same wave length. I just cleaned out the boys’ closets and am ready to freshen up their rooms. They are liking to hang art projects they have done at home or church on the wall. I want to do something inexpensive but fun. All I can come up with is stuff that cost more than I want to spend on little boy room…they tend to be a bit destructive…like breaking their wooden white custom blinds…AAAAGGHH! Our house upstairs looks nothing short of redneck thanks to their sweet souls! What to do when you are outnumbered in the testosterone-estrogen levels?!!!

    Happy Friday!

    Love,
    .mac 🙂

Comments are closed.