I *heart* MJF

41lnl2yjil_sl500_aa240_I am a child of the 80s. I grew up watching Family Ties, Teen Wolf and Back to the Future. I have always adored Michael J Fox, but as I’ve grown up I’ve really come to realize why I love him so much: He is so anti-typical. Despite everything going on in his life, I’ve never, ever seen him on t.v. without a smile. He always looks refreshed and really just at peace. He has a new book out, so he is all over the tv again for interviews and I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. It’s about being an optimist. And I tell you right now, who doesn’t need to hear that?  And for it to come from a guy who has gone through, is going through and has yet to go through so much. I admire him.

I admire him for his ability to start each day despite what he knows is coming. I grump about getting my legs out of the bed in the morning, but at least they cooperate! I admire him for his wanting to look at the good in everything and for being the model of someone who really does do that.

I’m at a place right now where I have two pretty distinct directions to go in my life. But I’m handling this time so differently than ever before. I’m “letting it play out” as someone encouraged me to do. Instead of trying to force my way down a certain path; instead of trying to glue myself into the tree…I’m abiding there. I’m not jumping fifteen steps in front of where God might lead, but I’m leisurely walking along the path and just seeing where it leads.

It’s a peaceful place (mostly) and people like MJF remind me that it is so important to just wake up in the morning, try my best to flip my legs out of the bed and seek the best that day has to offer (and I have to offer it) and just abide.

2 thoughts on “I *heart* MJF

  1. So true! And a good reminder for me to stop seeing life as a series of hurdles (once I get past this….) and instead as a attentive journey. I still have the need to get you a bumper sticker with I heart MJF.

  2. On a totally unrelated note…

    Happy Birthday, Aimee! Woo hoo! Now you’re almost as old as I am. 🙂

    Miss and love you.

Comments are closed.