Embracing

I marvel at my insensate folly,
that with such enriching favours within my reach
I am slow to extend the hand to take them…

Quicken me, stir me, fill me with holy zeal.
Strengthen me that I may cling to thee and not let thee go.
May thy Spirit within me draw all blessings from they hand.
When I advance not, I backslide.

From The Valley of Vision

Am I embracing what God offers me at this very moment?
New life? New Identity? New beginning? New day?

How do I respond to God’s personal visit to me?
Do I come to Him expecting wrath or open arms?

Questions taken from My Children: A Lenten Devotional

The prayer is one that I read back in December and constantly feel myself drawn back to. The questions are from a Lenten Devotional that was passed out at our church.  It never fails to amaze me how God works; how He weaves things, words and people in and out of our lives so beautifully.

I so often struggle with acceptance. With something so small as accepting a compliment to something as big as accepting love from others. This transcends so deeply into my relationship with Christ. I am so weary and overwhelmed with keeping up with the mundane things of life right now: cooking, cleaning, picking up crap everywhere, doing laundry etc. Yet, I ignore the arms of Jesus opened wide for me to take refuge in. I don’t fully believe, trust, acknowledge that those arms are open and that they long for ME. I’m trying so hard to embrace tomorrow or cling to the past and I am making myself so weary.

How I continually pray during this season that I would stop more, rest more, cling to Jesus more and respond to Him with amazing abandonment knowing that what I will receive in the end is an amazing embrace.


One thought on “Embracing

  1. This will be my prayer for you. We all run right past His open arms waiting to hug us in. We all do.

    Rest.

    It’s tough to find and even harder to feel even when it is right before you.

    His embrace. His rest. His will.

    My prayer for you, for us all.

    Right there with you,

    .mac 🙂

Comments are closed.