Words to Hear

If there were ever words that are truly echoing the state of my heart right now, these are them:

“I have always, essentially, been waiting. Waiting to become something else, waiting to be that person I always thought I was on the verge of becoming, waiting for that life I thought I would have. In my head, I was always one step away. …

[But] life’s made up of more than that one moment. Life is a collection of a million, billion moments, tiny little moments and choices, like a handful of luminous, glowing pearls. And strung together, built upon one another, lined up through the days and the years, they make a life, a person. It takes so much time, and so much work, and those beads and moments are so small…

This pedestrian life is the most precious thing any of us will ever experience…

You have stories worth telling, memories worth remembering, dreams worth working toward, a body worth feeding, a soul worth tending, and beyond that, the God of the universe dwells within you, the true culmination of super and natural.

You are more than dust and bones.
You are spirit and power and image of God.
And you have been given Today
.”

~Shauna Niequist from Cold Tangerines

Thanks to Ann at A Holy Experience for sharing. I need to find this book and read it asap!

One thought on “Words to Hear

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing! I am super excited about this little book of essays and it has already been added to the Amazon Wish List! Love it love it love it! I so need to be reminded of this pedestrian life, that life is more than one moment!

Comments are closed.