Bloom Where You Are Planted

The other day I was cruising along in life, pondering the future etc etc (o.k. I was freaking out again, wanting to know how to make things better, easier, smoother…) and this phrase just popped into my head. There is an old Mary Engelbreit picture that has this saying on it and that was the picture that came up in the midst of my day. I’ve been processing it for the last couple of days and last night it all just came so clear.

I’m not blooming here. I’m not reveling in the beauty that God creates and gives me in my day. I am so depressed about the garden that didn’t grow in the past and so busy trying to figure out how to make next year’s garden bloom that I am missing the beauty in today. It’s a thought that the Lord is pounding into my head. To be content, to be o.k. with the now and to stop being so concerned about tomorrow or depressed about the past. Everywhere I look and everything I do, this is a constant refrain in my life.

From Romans 7

21I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. 22I love God’s law with all my heart. 23But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. 24Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? 25Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

photos courtesy of flickr pool.

One thought on “Bloom Where You Are Planted

  1. Not that I know you well enough to give you advice or anything but…

    We all wrestle with this.

    Staying at home is a tough job. It is constant and at times monotonous and gruelling. Yes, the rewards are boundless and will outlast the “rough spots.”

    Sometimes I think the mundain-ness of being a stay at home mama lends itself to this “what if” and “what will be.”

    All we have is the now.
    When I get feeling like this, it helps me to stop and relish in the moment.
    Take a walk with the boys, put the extra creamer in my coffee, stay up too late reading a book I can’t put down, laugh and tickle and worry less about getting here and dishes in the sink.

    God’s BIG picture will be YOUR masterpiece in His glory. Rest assure on this. His plan is perfect, but you are not. He knows this and loves us all for every imperfection and weakness. BUT remember, He loves us just as much for the beauty and goodness that He has given each of us too.

    Focus on the moments…the masterpiece will be His perfection.

    Hope this helps!

    🙂 .mac

Comments are closed.