Yummy Granola

I’ve been working like silly today on stuff that really isn’t all that fun. No sewing or creating at all. Just plain old work. So, I decided that I was going to do at least one “fun” thing today so I made some granola.

I love granola and the last time I tried to make it from scratch I hated it! It was nothing like what you can buy at the store. Well, I think I have found my recipe. I got this from a blog I read (of course no idea which one!) but they credit Bon Appetite magazine and I’ve never made anything from that magazine that was bad.

I did change a few things. I used 2 different kinds of oats (quick and regular) and also decreased the oats by a cup and used some plain brown rice cereal I had. I also added raisins.

Vanilla Scented Granola Courtesy of Bon Appetit Magazine
Cooking spray
4 cups rolled oats
1 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons sugar
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
Position rack to middle of oven and preheat to 300 degrees. Lightly spray large baking sheet with nonstick spray. Mix next 5 ingredients in large bowl. Combine oil, honey and sugar in small saucepan; bring to simmer over medium heat. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla. Pour hot liquid over oat mixture; stir well. Using hands, toss mixture until thoroughly mixed. Spread granola on prepared baking sheet. Bake until golden brown, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes (but check after 20). Transfer sheet to rack; cool granola completely. (Can be made two weeks ahead. Store in airtight container at room temperature.) Makes approximately 8 cups.
Side Note: If you prefer granola clumps, do not stir during baking and allow the granola to cool. You can then break the granola apart into pieces.

5 thoughts on “Yummy Granola

  1. YUMMY! I love granola!!! Sounds easy enough to make. I haven’t done any sewing today either. My hubby took a lazy day off from work which makes it really hard to get my stuff done!

  2. We have a TON of oatmeal laying around (that is what happens when you do not check the cupboards before heading to the grocery store) so I decided to give your recipe a try (I omitted the almond) and it is wonderful!!! It was a fun thing to make with the kiddos and it is super yummy to eat! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!

Comments are closed.