Vunerability Part 1

I’ve been learning a lot lately about being vulnerable, about being my “true self.” I will share more on this in the next post, but first wanted to share this passage that really sums up what I am talking about. It is again from Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge:

The reason we fear to step out is because we know that it might not go well (is that an understatement?). We have a history of wounds screaming at us to play it safe…That we will hear yet again the message of our wounds, the piercing negative answers to our Question. That is why we can only risk stepping out when we are resting in the love of God. When we have received his verdict on our lives – that we are chosen and dearly loved. That he finds us captivating. Then we are free to offer.

But we don’t get to wait and offer our lives until we have our acts together. We don’t get that luxury…God asks us to be vunerable. He invites us to share and give in our weaknesses. He wants us to offer the beauty that he has given us even when we are keenly aware that it is not all that we wish it were. He wants us to trust him.

More to come…

One thought on “Vunerability Part 1

  1. I love that book! I have read it twice and I really felt like it was written just for me. It really spoke to me. I am glad you are getting a lot out of it too.

Comments are closed.