Is It Worth It?

If you follow this blog at all, you will know that we’ve been struggling with me going back to work full time. I mentioned earlier that I felt pretty strongly that going back into the public school venue wasn’t going to happen. A closed door for sure.
drwill 308
Then today I went for an interview at a private Christian school. It happens to be the same place where my son attends preschool and where my little chick will eventually end up too. I don’t have any offers yet, but the question does remain…is it worth it? Could I make enough money subbing and sewing to help us monthly or do I be more “reasonable” and accept a position with a guaranteed salary? How much more money monthly makes it worth it for me to be out of the home? I’m so torn.
easter08
Part of me is excited about the opportunity. It would mean half off tuition for my kids as long as I was there. But it means giving up what I’ve been doing (or not doing) these last 18 months. I am praying and longing for a clear and deliberate answer. And what is so hard…my husband and my parents are so excited about it and the potential. I can’t say that I’m there yet.

3 thoughts on “Is It Worth It?

  1. Prayer is definitely the best answer.. be patient and He’ll show you the way. It might help to consider what type of example you want to be to your children. Weigh it out in your mind. It might help with your talks with God.

  2. I agree with Goosie Girl. Turn this one over to the Lord, and also, listen to hubby’s counsel. Some questions you might answer together are: what would we do with the “extra” money? and what are we willing to give up for me to work outside the home?

    Anytime a homemaker works outside the home she loses time for homemaking.

    It’s nice that you have an option in a “safe” environment. Working out in the world can be really tough these days.

    I’ll remember your situation in prayer.

  3. interesting, we just struggled with the decision of sending our 3 kids to Christian school. They are going back. I work full time to help cover the cost. My kids love their school and I love the peace of mind I have knowing that they are there. You would have the extra bonus of being right there on campus. It is a sacrifice either way. Pray, pray and then pray some more.

Comments are closed.