Heavenly Muffins

banana muffins

I can’t remember where I found this recipe (Angry Chicken maybe? she’s been posting a bunch of yummy recipes lately) but irregardless, they are incredible. I’m really not one to eat muffin batter, just isn’t like cake or cookie batter…but this stuff was amazing. I used vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream which I’m sure made them even sweeter. They do have a bit of sugar in them and I’m betting you could cut it down a little if you used yogurt. For the topping I used all whole wheat pastry flour and for the actual muffins I did half and half (half wwp flour and half ap flour). These are not lasting long around here! 🙂 I think next time I make them I’m going to cut down the sugar to maybe 3/4 cup and add a little wheat germ and flax seed (shh! don’t tell!)

Brown Sugar-Banana Coffee Cakes
Makes: 6 large or 18 small individual coffee cakes
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Streusel Mixture:
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 t salt
1/4 cup butter
Muffins:
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (about 1.5 bananas)
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup sour cream*
2 eggs
1 T vanilla
2 t baking powder
1/4 t salt

1) Streusel: In food processor or bowl, whirl or mix flour, brown sugar and salt. Cut butter into small pieces and add to bowl; pulse mixture or cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside.
2) Muffins: In a bowl, with a mixer on high speed, beat butter and cup brown sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla until well blended. Beat in mashed bananas.
3) In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking powder and salt. Stir into banana mixture. Gently fold in sour cream* until well blended.
4) Divide batter equally among 6 jumbo or 18 regular buttered and floured muffin cups (I found it fit in 12 regular cups). Fill each cup 1/2 way. Sprinkle streusel evenly over tops of cakes.
5) Bake until streusel is browned and a wooded skewer comes out with moist crumbs attached, 18-25 minutes. Cool 5 minutes in cups, then invert pan to remove. Serve warm or cool completely.

