Cooking Up a Storm

I recently borrowed The Sneaky Chef cookbook from a friend and it was excellent! I got the Jessica Seinfeld version for Christmas and while I like hers ok, the explanations, recipes and purees are just more well-rounded in the Lapine book.

Yesterday I finally got around to making a couple of the purees to freeze. The thing that I like about her puree recipes is that they involve more than one vegetable in each puree based on color. I made the white puree and the orange puree. You can check out her website for some sample recipes that use these purees.


Orange Puree (this is before obviously)

1 medium sweet potato

3 medium carrots

3-4 T water

Boil veggies for 20 minutes. Drain and puree with 2 T water. Yield 2 cups.


White Puree (this is after)

2 cups cauliflower

2 small zucchini-peeled

1 t lemon

3-4 T water

Steam cauliflower in steamer (10-12 min on stove or microwave 8-10)

Pulse raw zucchini with lemon. Drain cauliflower and add to puree with 2 T water. Yield 2 cups.


I have been adding purees to about half of the things I cook regularly for a few months now and the trick I have really figured out is that you have to make it really, really smooth. No one in my family is a very good vegetable eater so I’ve tried to do this as much as possible. So far, so good.

2 thoughts on “Cooking Up a Storm

  1. You are so good and diligent. I was doing that for awhile and then got burned out. Now we drink green smoothies and I still get a good amount of veggies in my pasta sauce. I am not sneaking them as much though.

    *Love the new blog design! It is so fresh and fun.*

    Can’t wait to see you Saturday!

Comments are closed.