Oatmeal Bread & a New Cookbook

I found out about this cookbook from somewhere online. I waited and waited to get it from the library and was able to get it in time to take it to the beach to “read.” It really is a very interesting take on food and cooking and is probably one that I’m going to try and purchase pretty soon. There are just too many recipes in there that I want to try!

Today I made the Oatmeal Bread and it is FABULOUS! It was super easy and I even think it’s going to be a great bread to make for sandwiches. I tried to take a picture of it because it turned out so pretty, but the batteries in my camera went dead 😦 so you’ll have to suffice with a picture of the cookbook!

Here is the recipe for the bread:

Oatmeal Bread (makes 2 loaves)

Combine in a  large bowl:

1 c. quick oats

1/2 c. whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat)

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 T. salt

2 T. butter

Pour over:

2 c. boiling water

Stir in to combine.

Dissolve:

1 pkg dry yeast in

1/2 c. warm water

When batter is cooled to lukewarm, add yeast.

Stir in:

5 c. white flour (I used 2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose and 2 1/2 cups bread flour)

When dough is stiff enough to handle, turn onto floured board and knead 5-10 minutes. Place in greased bowl, cover and let rise until doubled (about 1 hour). Punch down and let rise again (30 min). Shape into 2 loaves and place in greased bread pans. Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes. Cool on rack, brushing loaves with butter for soft crust.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Bread & a New Cookbook

Comments are closed.