Out of Obedience Comes Blessing

A little over a two years ago I found out I was pregnant with baby number 2. I was teaching 30 minutes east of town in a job that had brought amazing healing to me and my husband was teaching in a job 30 minutes west of town in a job that he was quickly beginning to hate. We quickly realized that childcare and gas was going to equal more than half my paycheck and that he was going to have to start praying for another job due to the stress he was under.

Fast forward a few months and my husband is working in a completely new job, that he absolutely loves, but is making less than he was teaching. I was sitting in front of my principal resigning from my teaching position. We knew that our income did not meet our needs, but we knew that God was calling me to be home with our children. We ended up on WIC for the first year and while that was incredibly humbling, it was an incredible blessing. We ended up giving up our cell phone (not as big a sacrifice as we had initially thought) and we ended up giving up a car. We continued to daily find ways to scrimp and save and some days it was really, really hard and other days found me more content with where I was and where we were as a family.

Fast forward to the present. We were given a car months ago and it has been nothing but an amazing blessing. The timing of the gift was nothing but the Lord. He knew that there was no way I could have continued driving everyone around without going nuts! My husband has received raise upon raise and is now making more than he would have been teaching and on top of it, this most recent raise (last week) was the $200 a month extra that we have been praying for…and without me having to go back to work (beyond what I do at church on the weekends).

In all this I have continued to hear God telling me, “out of obedience comes blessing”. We have made some decisions in the last 2 years that truly didn’t make sense and we didn’t know how things were going to work out. But we knew they were decisions God was calling us to. We have not been perfect in this by any means. We have payed off a credit card, only to put more on it again. We have not tithed as we should. We have eaten out, when we really shouldn’t have. I have blown it on clothes for me or my kids. But through all this, we have come to a place in regards to debt and simplicity that we never would have been at had we not done what we did.

I am continually amazed at the goodness of God. Even when we fail miserably, He is still faithful. He may not do what we want Him to or give as we want Him to, but He does give us what we need when we need it. Our lives these past 2 years are a testimony to that.

