Self-Examination

I feel like the last year of my life has been one huge lesson in self-examination. I’ve shared often from the book Sacred Rhythms this past year and I’ve come across one of her activities that she suggests that I really love. I pray that I can get into the habit of doing this daily at the close of my day.

Steps to Self-Examination

1. Preparation: Settle into the assurance of God’s love. He says, “I have loved you with an everlasting love.”

2. Invitation: Invite God to go with you in your search for evidence of His presence throughout your day.

3. Review the Day: Identify the major events of the day, reflect on each event and notice where God seemed to be loving you, speaking to you, guiding you or showing you something new about yourself.

4. Give Thanks: Thank God for each part of your day and for His presence with  you in the midst of it. Express any unresolved issues to God and experience gratitude for God’s presence even in dark or confusing places.

5. Confess: Use Psalm 139:23-24 “Search me O God and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! See if there by any grievous way in me and lead me in the way everlasting.” Invite God to bring to mind attitudes, actions or moments when you fell short of exhibiting the character of Christ or the fruit of the Spirit.

6. Ask Forgiveness: and express willingness to take any concrete steps needed to allow Christ’s character to be more fully formed in you. Be assured of God’s forgiveness. (1 John 1: 9 If we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.)

7. Seek out Spiritual Friendship

Here are a few more thoughts from this chapter…

“Psalm 139 invites us to become really effective at being ourselves and letting God use that for His glory.”

“There is safety that comes from knowing that we are secure in God and have been lovingly formed by God and we are able to let the darker elements of ourselves emerge in God’s presence.”

What a comfort to be reminded of God’s unfailing and unconditional love

…especially on this Good Friday. 

