Scones

scones

Here is a recipe for absolutely easy and delicious scones. I wish I could tell you where I found the recipe. I know it was from one of many of the blogs I read and I honestly can’t remember…so sorry to the person that I can’t credit!

Basic Scones

2 cups flour

1 T baking powder

1 T sugar

1/2 t salt

6 T butter

1/2 cup buttermilk, yogurt or cream

1 lightly beaten egg

Preheat oven to 425*. Mix together the dry ingredients. Cut in butter. Add dairy and egg. Mix, but be careful not to overstir-this will toughen the scones. Leave the butter chunky. Dump the dough on a baking sheet and “sculpt” into a mound several inches high. Cut into about six pie wedges. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until top is lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.

Drizzle with a basic icing of milk and powdered sugar once cooled. If you mix in cranberries, substitute orange juice for the dairy.

This is just a basic recipe and you can add whatever mix-ins you want. I tend to make apple/cinnamon because I’ve always got apples around that are too mushy to eat (we’ve got to have crisp apples in this house!). This time around I added apples, walnuts and I actually forgot to add the cinnamon so I made a cinnamon/sugar glaze for the top. They are totally yummy! I do half and half with my flour too (half whole wheat pastry flour and half unbleached all purpose). ENJOY!

If I were a more together mother/wife, I would have made these on Monday for St. Patrick’s Day, but we’ll have to settle for 2 days later! 🙂

One thought on “Scones

Comments are closed.