We Are Built for Eden

imagedb.jpeg

I am reading, Breaking the Idols of Your Heart, by Allender and Longman for our ladies Bible study at church. I love the book and love the ultimate message of the book:

              We are built for Eden.  We can never be happy with anything short of restoration to the Garden, and only Jesus can provide that.

Over the past nearly 4 years that we have been back in our hometown, I have continually had to grapple with forgiveness. It seems that that is the message that God has really been drilling into me. I have been through some of the toughest personal battles in these last 4 years and it has been a time that I have truly clung to God, sought His Will and forgiveness, screamed at God for allowing so many of these experiences to happen  and also realized that nothing here in this world can satisfy me like the Lord can.  I have done some stupid things, hurtful things, had terribly hurtful things happen to me and through it all (after all the yelling, screaming and tears) I have come back to the knowledge that true peace is found only in clinging to the Cross. That is why I love this Easter season. It is about Jesus suffering pain, for our joy. His suffering on the Cross, so that we can enjoy a morning sunrise or the budding of the new daffodils in spring; but ultimately those things can only bring us so much pleasure. Those beautiful (and painful) things in this world are meaningless if they don’t point us back to God.

Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.”        Romans 5:2-3

Our hearts ache, but we always have joy. 2 Corinthians 6:10 

