Season of Lent

Easter Tomb

Every year since our little man was young we have made an Easter Tomb. I learned this little tradition from a family in our old church in NC. I always try to do it around Ash Wednesday so that the grass seed has plenty of time to sprout and obviously because it is the beginning of Lent.

We finished our tomb today and it is always so interesting that questions that are brought up. Today we had a conversation about why there were 3 crosses and why they chose that type of punishment for robbers.

All you need to make it is a large round pot for the base, a smaller pot for the tomb, a large rock, some dirt and grass seed. You can add flowers if you want too. Fill the large pot with dirt, place the smaller pot on it’s side and cover the opening with a large rock. Sprinkle grass seed around and use sticks to make the 3 crosses. I wake up early on Easter Sunday and remove the rock and lay a piece of white cloth inside to signify that “He has risen!”

On another note, I have really started to love the Easter season so much; more so than Christmas. It just lends itself as being such a reflective season and I love that. It is the one season that just moves my heart so much. We have changed our Easter traditions a little bit in the last few years and don’t do Easter baskets anymore. Last year, I gave little man some carefully chosen books for Easter and that will be our tradition from now on. I can deal with Santa, but something about the Easter bunny really rubs me the wrong way!

*UPDATE…Please share your tomb pictures if you end up making one this season!

4 thoughts on “Season of Lent

  1. I love this!
    I agree about Easter. We invite the Easter Bunny to come on Saturday and bring a simple basket, so that Easter Sunday is all about the Savior.
    But I love the idea of doing away with the basket completely.
    Can’t wait to make our own tomb. Thanks!

  2. Oh, I like the idea of doing the Easter basket on Saturday and Sunday being all about Jesus. I think that’s a great idea. We might have to consider that this year!

  3. I love the Easter tomb. When we feel better, we are going to have to do that.
    I also agree with the Easter bunny thing. We have never done that. I don’t think my kids really know what the Easter bunny is.
    You are so creative to think of the Easter tomb. I just love it!

Comments are closed.